Veterans Property Tax Exemption

Veterans Property Tax Exemption
Program Overview
Administered by the County Assessor's Office and County Treasurer's Office, the Veterans Property Tax Exemption Program helps qualified veterans by reducing property taxes on their primary residence or motor vehicle licensing fees.
  • You must currently be a resident of Wyoming and have been a resident for a minimum of 3 years prior to applying for the benefit.
  • You must provide us with a copy of your or your spouse’s DD214 (discharge papers) or the equivalent from your branch of service.
For Veterans receiving the exemption on their property taxes there will be a Veterans Exemption Letter mailed out every December, this letter must  be returned before the 4th Monday in May. 

The exemption applies to taxes on a Veterans's primary residence lowering the assessed value by $3,000 (approx $200 tax value)
If the exemption is not used on property, it may be applied to a vehicle's licensing fee (not sales tax). More than one vehicle may qualify, but the total exemption shall not exceed $90. The vehicle(s) must be titled to the Veteran before qualifying, leased vehicle do not qualify. 

Eligibility Requirements
Pursuant to Wyoming Statute 39-13-105, to be eligible for the Wyoming Veterans Exemption, in addition to being a Wyoming resident for three years, you must also meet one of the following criteria.
Served in the Armed Forces during -
  • World War II  (Dec 7, 1941 - Dec 31, 1946); or
  • Korean War (June 27, 1950 - Jan 31, 1955); or
  • Vietnam War (Feb 28, 1961 - May 7, 1975); or
  • Must have served overseas during an armed conflict and, who was awarded the armed forces expeditionary medal or any other authorized service or campaign medal indicating service for the United States in any armed conflict in a foreign country; or
  • Disabled veteran with a compensable service-connected disability certified by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) or a branch of the armed forces of the United States, a VA or DoD agency disability letter is required.
  • Be the surviving spouse of a veteran who met one or more requirements above. As a surviving spouse, you must also meet all of the following criteria:
  • Not remarried
  • Resident of Wyoming for three years at the time of the application
  • You and your spouse were residents of Wyoming at the time of your spouse's death