Fire Department

Fire Department
20191025_115044 - Copy (2)
Sweetwater County Fire Department (SCFD) has been providing wildfire suppression and management to the citizens of Sweetwater County since 1971. Sweetwater County Fire Department’s jurisdiction covers approximately 7,067 square miles of the 10,480 sq. miles that make up the largest county in the State of Wyoming.
We are a Career/Paid-Call Firefighter, Combination Fire Department located in the city of Rock Springs, Wyoming.
Our career staff consists of the County Fire Warden/Fire Chief, Deputy County Fire Warden/Asst. Chief,  one Captain, and one Firefighter. SCFD  employs 14 Seasonal Firefighters from spring to fall each year. The remaining firefighters serve as Paid Call Firefighters who respond when needed and are available the same as a volunteer only we compensate them for their time per call. 
Sweetwater County Fire Department has mutual aid agreements with the 6 other fire departments, 2 fire districts within the county along with a long standing professional working relationship with the Bureau of Land Management, and the Ashley National Forest. Sweetwater County is bordered by 5 other Wyoming counties and the states of Utah and Colorado. 
Sweetwater County is truly served by a collective interagency fire program that is founded on a professional and well respected level of service and commitment to the citizens and visitors of Sweetwater County. 

Like and Follow us on Facebook for all the latest news concerning Sweetwater Fire Department! 
Sweetwater County Fire Department Facebook Page 

View Our Photo Gallery

Find out Today's Fire Danger
Fire Warden
 Email or Submit Form

430 W Blair Ave.
Rock Springs, WY 82901 

Ph: (307) 922-5360 
Fx: (307) 352-6781
Emergency: 9-1-1 
Administrative Office
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Service Hours
24 hours a day, seven days a week