Click to Home

Go To Search

Concealed Firearm Permit Application

The Sweetwater County Sheriff’s Office does not issue Concealed Firearm Permits; CFPs are the province of the Division of Criminal Investigation in Cheyenne. The Sheriff’s Office is involved in the application process, however.
 
Applications for a Wyoming Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) are now available only online at the DCI website at http://wyomingdci.wyo.gov. Once at the DCI website, clicking on the link for “Concealed Firearm Permits” opens the Concealed Firearm Permits Page.
 
The Concealed Firearm Permits Page features links to the following:
 
- Instructions for CFP Applicants (Non-Military)
- Wyoming CFP Application (Non-Military)
- Resident Wyoming Military Personnel Stationed Out of State
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Wyoming Concealed Firearm Permit Statute (Effective 07/01/2011)

To apply for a Concealed Firearm Permit, select the link “Wyoming CFP Application.” The application can be downloaded to your computer and filled out. Four copies of the completed application form must then be printed out. (The “Wyoming CFP Application” is used for new applications as well as renewal applications.)

All four copies of the completed application form must then be taken to the Sweetwater County Detention Center at 50140 U.S. Highway 191 South. (To get to the Detention Center, go to mile marker 99 on Interstate 80, turn onto U.S.
Highway 191, and proceed 1.4 miles south.)
 
Payment in the proper form must accompany the completed application forms brought to the Detention Center. The fees are as follows:
 
New Applications - $64
Renewal Applications before the expiration date - $45
Renewal Applications after the expiration date - $55
Duplicate permit application - $5

The fees referenced above can only be in the form of a money order or cashier’s check made out to DCI or the Wyoming Attorney General’s Office. Cash, credit cards, debit cards, or personal checks are not accepted.

In addition, a separate $15 fingerprinting fee must also be paid when the applications forms are brought to the Detention Center. The $15 fingerprint fee only applies to new applications. There is no fingerprint fee for renewal applications.  The $15 fingerprinting fee can be made in the form of cash or a personal check, money order, or cashier’s check made out to the Sweetwater County Sheriff’s Office. Credit cards or debit cards are not accepted for the fingerprinting fee. The application fee and the fingerprinting fee are separate and cannot be bundled together.

Detention Center personnel will retain all but one copy of your application form, which you will then need to take to the Wyoming Department of Transportation Driver’s Services Office at 3200 Elk Street in Rock Springs, where your picture will be taken for the permit. This must be done with 10 days of your application.
 
Processing times may take up to 90 days, depending on volume. The permit is sent to the Sheriff’s Office, which will contact you once the process is complete.

State and county officials recommend that those interested in applying for a Concealed Firearm Permit review the Wyoming statutes that regulate the procedure, particularly its mandatory training provisions. (There is a link to the statutes on DCI’s Concealed Firearm Permits Page.)

Questions or concerns may be directed to DCI in Cheyenne to or (307) 777-7181. Answers to many questions can be found on the DCI’s Concealed Firearms Permit Page by clicking the “Frequently Asked Questions” link.